Blog post 17!

By: Kavita P

Evening bloggers,

Today is the friday before ‘Asignment week’ where all the students are off timetable from lectures. During this week as well as catching up on any note making, me and my group aim to keep you posted about the research topics we have been asigned. I cannot believe that it is already Novemeber ( in a few days ). It only seems like yesterday, when I was getting ready for uni. This term has flown by and I’m sure so will the year. Looking back on these weeks makes me really happy and nervous at the same time. I feel like I am really enjoying univeristy and finally getting into a routine. The lectures and seminars are really exciting and are totally a new experience. I find fridays to be the best day of the week, as we get to learn about ‘psychotherapy and counselling’. As a group, I also feel like we have realy gelled well and made become really good friends – which will only grow over time.


Todays lecture was about ‘Diagnostic systems’ and the labelling that goes with it. We were split into 2 groups and had to debate whether we should use them or not.  I was asigned to the ‘For’ team and actually find it quite difficult, as it went against my PERSONAL beliefs. I feel like this is a key skill ( to argue a point you do no necessarily belive in ). As a group we came to the conclusion that – The diagnostics system should be something that is quite ‘Flexible’ and should be seen as a ‘Foundation’ as to which health professionals work on. This is due to the fact that, often we find that by diagnosing someone and labelling them with a tag such as ‘Depression’ can actually have negative effects as well as positive. I hope to blog more about this in the future, when thinking of essay titles for that unit. However right now, I have to go as its my cousins birthday party tonight! 😉


During next week I aim to conduct more research into ‘ Reflective Practice’, create revision material and to enjoy the time with my family (especially my nephew). I hope everyone has a great weekend and next week is productive and relaxing.

Happy Halloween!

#Firsttimebloggers

Leave a Reply

